Karlos

I probably won’t be able to post again until Monday, but I’ve had a few people ask me about Karlos, and my friend Yvette pointed out I didn’t share Karlos’ full history.

First, a note about Yvette. She volunteers her skill, home, and love to foster shelter dogs, and help to place them. She’s something of a knight errant when it comes to the plight of abandoned animals. I’m glad she reminded me about my error.

Karlos is a rescue, and as one of the “scary” breeds, would not be alive without the dedication of people who go above and beyond. He came from my friend James, who rescues horses and dogs, mostly shepherds, pit bulls, and other big, potentially dangerous breeds. He fears no animal, and will provide a home to animals that other people would destroy. He also lets us try before we buy (he doesn’t charge, it’s just a saying). We’ve tried Grendel, the brindle bull mastiff, another shepherd, a little mutt, and a big black lab that just sat by the door the whole time waiting for James to come back.

But this amazing dog with a single-minded drive to perform his duty, and a deep and abiding devotion to my wife (he’s her dog, really), would almost certainly have been killed without people like James and Yvette.

I don’t want to get too sappy, but Yvette told me its important to remind people that great dogs come from shelters, too. So here’s one last picture. He rests his head on things when he wants what you’re eating. It is very endearing, and I can almost never resist him.

2 Comments

Filed under Karlos

2 responses to “Karlos

  1. Pingback: The Mother Seton March: Where and Why | ELMFund

  2. Pingback: Sergeant Rex, or how I am forced to say something nice about the Yankees. | ELMFund

Leave a Reply

