“Walk for Those Who Can’t” Benefits Wounded Vets

Welcome to the  “Walk for Those Who Can’t” fund-raising campaign to benefit the Sentinels of Freedom! The mission of the Sentinels is to provide scholarships and other opportunities for severely wounded veterans.

How important is that?  Just read this excerpt:

“I was so stressed because I did not know what I was going to do,” says Brown. “The day after I got home, Mike took me out to the V.A. in Martinez to set me up with my benefits. [A few weeks later] he set me up with a job at UPS. It was a huge relief to be able to start working right away.”

That is from this article about the genesis of the Sentinels of Freedom.

“I was so stressed because I did not know what I was going to do.”

We’ve all been there. I can’t find my car keys and I have an important appointment. I have $7 in my bank account until next payday. I have to find a new job. I just had a fight with my spouse.

Try “I am mostly blind, am missing one leg and I have virtually no support network. Oh, and I face an immense bureaucracy to get the basic help I have coming to me.” I wouldn’t want to walk in those shoes.

Our country can only afford to patch  up our severely wounded vets and medically retire them. They go home to a family that hardly recognizes them and can NEVER truly understand how they changed. Out of the tens of thousands of post 9/11 wounded, Mike Conklin of the Sentinels of Freedom provides a helping hand to vets who need it.

Thus far, the Sentinels of Freedom has been able to accept 66 vets as Sentinels to get the training and support they need to become community leaders.  Won’t you help?  We are hiking for those can’t. I am already approaching $8000 in donations, and I only need to get to $60,000. Read the above article and please come away from it thinking about you can help.

Please subscribe to this blog feed, or to “The Ed Mahoney Scholarship Foundation” over on Facebook to stay in touch.

I’ve already done the first major hike of the “Walk for Those Who Can’t”

Terry and Karlos on the last leg of their first major hike.

campaign:  on April 28 I set out at 3 a.m. from the site of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton’s original school on Paca St. in downtown Baltimore, and followed Rte. 140 west to Emmitsburg, reaching the goal of the While House on the grounds of the National Shrine of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton around 9 p.m.

Along the way I dodged a few rainstorms and developed some blisters, but it was nothing compared to what many vets experience.

More hikes are planned along the way — see the Hikes page.  We’ll wrap it up with a 185-mile trek f the C & O Canal Tow Path from Nov. 5 – 10.

If you help us meet our goal when November 11th rolls around, you will know in your heart that you have already thanked a vet in a way that can’t be measured.

Semper Fi,
Terry

1 Comment

Filed under C & O Canal Tow Path, Disabled veterans, Emmitsburg, Marine, Marines, Sentinels of Freedom, Service-disabled veteran, The Ed Mahoney Scholarhip Foundation, veterans, Walk for Those Who Can't, Wounded veterans

One response to ““Walk for Those Who Can’t” Benefits Wounded Vets

  1. Diane Quinn

    That’s a long walk, Terry! Very admirable that you are putting your feet to work to bring attention to this important issue. Please let me know where I can send a donation for your next walk.

Leave a Reply

