Do You Support Our Troops? How Much?

I put a lot of miles on my car. A lot. I’m in sales and I cover a territory that is essentially all of Maryland and Northern Virginia. So I see a lot of bumper stickers. One of the most popular is, of course, the “Support our Troops!” in one of it’s many variations.

I have riffed on “supporting our troops” to my wife often enough that she tends to tune me out. You see, I used to complain, because thanking me for my service doesn’t feed a homeless vet, etc. Eventually, she yelled at me and told me I was being insensative. And she was right. What right did I have to be grumpy, and for that matter, what was I doing to support our troops, anyway?

Which is why I am hiking in November, because just being in the Marine Corps League, giving to the Purple Heart folks, or whatever, isn’t enough for me. I need to show the current crop of vets I really support them. Just because I served doesn’t give me carte blanche to stand on the sidelines. And when I go out to talk to people, I challenge them to do more, give more, care more.

Which is why I am showing you this picture:

Picture of a Cell from the secret ward of Tehran's Evin Prison

This is from Evin Prison’s Section 209,  probably where Amir Hekmati, the former Marine Sergeant, is being held. He was convicted in secret court of spying for the CIA while he was actually just in Iran visiting his grandmother. He was sentenced to death. Completely bogus.

His death penalty was overturned, and his case sent for retrial, but that doesn’t mean he’s back in Detroit with his family. If you’re still with me, I’m getting to the part where you can support the troops. Best of all, it won’t cost you anything except some of your Facebook time.

I want you to write a letter. I can hear the groans.

No, this isn’t that tough. You just go to the website the Hekmati family set up, FreeAmir.org, and you fill out a web form. Here’s the link. Then you let me know you did it either here or on Facebook. Here’s the letter I wrote.(click on the link “Amir”)

If you can’t think of a thing to write, just copy and paste this:

Dear Amir,

Thank you for your service to our country, and please know that my thoughts and prayers are with you. I hope that one day you can read this letter while sitting safe at home, surrounded by your loved ones.

Sincerely,

(your name here)

Okay? That was easy.

Please. I’m begging you. I’m not asking you to come hike 185 miles with me and Karlos. I’m not asking you to volunteer at the VA, or visit Bethesda. I’m not even asking you to roll down your window to give that beggar some change (he’s probably a vet). Just click a link, fill out a form. That’s it. Please. I’m breaking up right now, thinking about how few letters this will generate, but even if it’s just one (And I know YOU will, Missy) that will be better than nothing. Please just do it, and tell your friends. Or if you’re a teacher, tell your students. Heck, ASSIGN them a letter to write.

The Hekmatis are reading these, and they will give them to Amir when they can. Help them know you care. It’s all we can do right now.

Semper Fi,

Terry

11 Comments

Filed under Marine, Marines, Sacrifice, Support our Troops, veterans

11 responses to “Do You Support Our Troops? How Much?

  1. Elizabeth king

    I wrote the letter. Thank you for showing me how.

  2. Dear Amir,
    Thank you for your service to our country, and please know that my thoughts and prayers are with you. I hope that one day you can read this letter while sitting safe at home, surrounded by your loved ones.
    Sincerely,
    Rev Karen W. Diamond

  3. Elizabeth and Karen, I can’t thank you enough. His family reads every one of these.

  4. Sean

    Message (and prayers) sent.

  5. SDJ

    Reblogged this on Project One Five and commented:
    Action 156 – Do Something Meaningful For Someone Else.

  6. Vincent E. Savarese

    Terry – our family’s letter to Amir is below.

    Amir,

    Please know that you & your family are in our prayers for your safe return. Your service to our country can never adequately be appreciated enough by those of us who benefit from it. It is only the soldier who really knows the sacrifices that he makes in order to serve others and we pray that you have the spirit to endure your current hardship. We already know that there is no other individual out there quite like a US Marine. Our hope is that when you return home, you will find what every warrior seeks……peace.

    Sincerely,

    The Savarese Family
    Baltimore, MD.

  7. Pingback: Best Day Ever | ELMFund

  8. Marybeth

    Terry, that was very eye opening…thanks for writing that. I wrote Amir a letter.

  9. Marybeth,
    Thanks so much! I can tell you from my time in the Corps, there is nothing like a letter. I can only imagine the positive impact this is having on the Hekmatis.

    Semper Fi,
    Terry

Leave a Reply

